Day Four of Korea

Time goes by way too fast on NyQuil.  It puts you in a whole other dimension.

I’m liking this way too much.  Laying here in bed and watching movie’s all day.

I had to give two massages yesterday at the spa down the street and it wore me out.  I fantasized about my bed and about NyQuil.

Ode to NyQuil

I shutter from a chill

I take a soft swallow

Of my NyQuil

Warmth envelopes my throat

It’s as if I’m floating on a boat

Down a green river of delight

Down into the emerald night, everything will be alright

The green river slithers down my esophageal

Filling me up as if a meal

It subsides in my insides thwarting instances of the flu

It presides in my insides turning my hue less blue

No more aches or fever bakes

No more cold toe’s, runny nose

Coughing, sleepless tossing

No more sneezing, breathless wheezing

It does what no pill can

I am a NyQuil fan

Grassy, sprouting, immature green

The color of youth, undecayed, tender, lean

You know what I mean

NyQuil

It’s the bee’s knee’s

I gave up on the poem at the end, a little.

I’m exhausted.  I can’t tell if it’s from the 14 hours of sleep, or if I’m still legitimately sick.  Let me brush my teeth.  Maybe I’ll feel different after brushing my teeth.

I feel a little better, but not by much.

I guess now is a good time to write about my day four of Korea.

Sarah had to work unexpectedly, so it was just Kristina and I to venture off into the big Korean city all by ourselves for the day.  I already wrote about that here.

That night we met Sarah’s little friend from Manchester, England, Rachel.  Rachel is absolutely awesome and I’m very upset I hadn’t taken any pictures of her.

We went to this backwards restaurant for dinner.  Here are pic’s from inside the restaurant.

That’s the way into the place.

This was my view while sitting at our metal table.

This was the menu.  It was two wooden boards with chalk pictures scribbled on them.  I wanted to point to eggs over my-hammy, but couldn’t find it.  I did, however, find a picture of a flying squid.

A quiet, omniscient boy in a black hoodie served us.  His hood was up the entire time.  He served us two cooked birds on two big dishes.   We each got a fork and a tissue napkin.  We were to dig in and eat from the same plate.

It was rustic, and I liked it, except for this one mysterious bit of food that I shoved into my mouth and couldn’t swallow.  Sarah lent me her tissue napkin so I could spit it out.  Rachel told me I won a prize for finding the inedible portion of the meal.

After dinner I asked Sarah to give me a cool, chill pose.

We went to the Red Bottle.

They had the Wii.

Hoards of alcohol went down my gullet that night.  When I reach a certain level of attention from the people in my immediate surrounding, mixed with a high dosage of alcohol, I start getting physically aggressive and my body wants to do weird spasmodic dances to keep the attention on me.

After beating everyone at arm wrestling (and telling them it’s not cheating if you throw your body into it), I started dancing.  Not breakdancing at first, but just regular dancing.  The more I danced, the more people paid attention to me.  The girls bartending grabbed me by my hand and pulled me behind the bar.   They fed me shots of jagermeister before turing me loose to dance some more.

It didn’t take long until I was on the floor spinning around.  I was trying to get little English Rachel to spin on her back with me.  I don’t recall if she actually did it or not.

I was breakdancing to Michael Jackson’s Beat It, and doing perverted things to a chair.  Why do I always end up fondling a chair?  I don’t know, I don’t remember.  But it’s over and it’s done –  I can close that book.

It was the alcohol.  That and I didn’t get much attention when I was a kid, so naturally stuff like this happens to me.

I was teaching this meek Korean man how to do the tango.

That’s all the pic’s I have of day four.  Now I don’t know what to do with myself.  I’m too sick to go out, but not sick enough to lay in bed.  I want to get snockered on NyQuil.

My Second Ode to NyQuil

You are my wife, my husband, my lover in sin

You shower me with kisses when you dribble down my chin

I hack up mucus, but you love me all the same

If you had ears and eyes, you would read my poems

and not think them lame

For you are my NyQuil

You are the bee’s knee’s

3 Comments

Filed under journal, Odes, South Korea

3 responses to “Day Four of Korea

  1. Holly

    You really like the phrase The Bees Knees! lol.
    love the Odes to NyQuil. I think you should contact NyQuil and see if you can be the writer for the jingles 🙂

  2. Steph

    I love your odes!!! You crack me up as I recall you were fondling chairs in Vegas too!! Love it!

Leave a Reply

