What I’m doing to pay off my debt

My Debt

I made this graph back in June 2010 (five months ago) when my debt was a whopping $18,073.

I had no idea it was up that high.  I just kept paying the minimum balance because that was all I could afford then.  Finally I decided to stop turning a blind eye and actually do something about this mess.

The graph helped me confront my worst nightmare. 

My life has been governed by debt since I received my first credit card 12 years ago.  I can’t imagine what my life would be like with a zero balance.  Everyday would feel like Christmas if I didn’t have debt to pay every month. 

A big hunk of it came from school.  When my student loans came in, I couldn’t afford to pay it, so I charged it.

I recently made a new graph to include APR and interest charged.  That way I can pay off the bill that is charging me the most every month.

My debt

Now I roughly owe $14,000. 

Making the graph has made a HUGE impact on the way I pay my bills. 

I spent A LOT of money over the summer by going to Vegas and a few little mini-vacations here and there and I still managed to lob off 4 grand in five months.

That’s the low-down.  Fourteen thousand dollars between me and freedom.  Between me, freedom, the world – my life!

Seriously, I have no idea what I would do without my debt to keep me grounded.  Would I acquire the hobo lifestyle?  Hopping from train to train, sleeping in barns and trying to score with the hot farmer’s son?

Now that my Xena days are over, I’ve been watching Hercules.  Xena and Hercules were hobo’s, why can’t I be?  I can fight crime along the way.

I’m going to make it my mission to pay off this debt as fast as I possibly can.  I have to think creatively.  Think creatively Melanie!

2 Comments

Filed under journal, Self help

2 responses to “What I’m doing to pay off my debt

  1. Good for you. Debt can be suffocating. I just recently got laid off and I am very thankful that I am not in debt.

Leave a Reply

