Googling myself

If I ever heard the phrase ‘googling somebody’ ten years ago, I would have thought they were doing the nasty.  Now it’s acceptable, globally known terminology.

I found myself in my bedroom during the wee hours of the night, googling myself.  What I found made my face flush and my insides churn.  I found a poem I wrote on Spyders poetry forum 11 years ago when I was 19 years old.  It was smack dab in the middle of the second page.

“Oh no oh no oh no.”

I nervously clicked the link and read my lame ass poem.  Oh so embarrassing, and oh so stuck in the web to follow my name around for the rest of my life and beyond.  Would you like to read this horribly discomfiting quatrain?

I’m probably going to regret this, but here it is. 

Trust not what you see in the complexities of this world
The trust that’s divine
Trust only the Lord

Creator and master of all big and small
like wind on a mountain
he will never fall

the simplicity of nature is what he does best
baby birds hatching on rickety sticks built for a nest
everything is beautiful
tranquil, serene
I wish everyone could know what I mean

feel the wind brush over you quickly without a care
you can’t see it, but it’s there
Feel the heat from the sun that may be too much to bear
you can’t hear it, but it’s there
feel the emotions in the roots of your soul
can’t see, nor touch, nor hear
but you know for a fact that they will always be there

lay down on your back one day
look up into the night sky with the moon and stars and pray
think long and deep with no cluttering concerns
ask questions to life and what you most yearn

see him or not
you will talk to him

hearing his words crisp and clear
would not happen in the night air

but only in you
for he is within you

and what he tells you would be advice so wise
trust this person within you, for he never lies

how can you go wrong when taking the paths you choose
listening to you heart, you can never lose

trust not what you see
trust not what you hear
trust in yourself
and have no fear

I’m not even religious!  Lame lame lame.

I have to get back to work.  Don’t worry, I won’t quit my day job.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Googling myself

  1. Steph

    I love your poem!

Leave a Reply

