Running

You can’t just decide one day that you want to take up running.  It’s as hard as trying to quit smoking cold turkey. 

I’ve been trying to run a few times a week, but I have horrible running shoes and no running plan.  I need a plan.  I just found one at: http://running.about.com/od/getstartedwithrunning/ht/getstarted.htm

I bought myself a stopwatch on ebay for $3, and I’m planning on buying new running shoe’s soon.  One of my clients suggested Nike pegasus for my narrow feet.  Right now I wear my old puma’s.

My old shoe's

The most I can run now is one lap around the track before hacking my lungs out and collapsing on the grass.  Running has never been my forte.  I need to run about 2 miles without stopping to catch my breath, or puke.

I’ve never been all that into exercise, but I have somehow adapted a relatively healthy eating style (other than guzzling beer now and then).  My overall physical shape is not completely dire.

 I’m going to have to follow this running plan if I’m serious about joining the military.  Otherwise I would be one of those unfortunates to get recycled back into day one of boot camp.  

I’m going to start at week two.  Walk five minutes, jog for two.  Repeat 3 times.  They suggest doing this three times a week, but I’m hoping to do a little bit more.  

Having a plan makes running a mile seem possible.  I was becoming discouraged before by not seeing any improvement.  Hopefully this will work or I’m shit out of luck.  

The track I use is a four-minute walk away from my house.  And I’m usually the only one on it.  It’s like having my very own personal track.

My track

 The landscape guy was there once to mow the lawn.  It was like he was mowing it just for me.

I mowed lawns a few years ago for rich people, but I’ll save that one for a different post.

I live on a street in Cheshire that reminds me of what the deep south would look like.  Overrun with tall grass, dilapidated houses and smelly over-flowing septic tanks.

Walking the four minutes to the track is like walking through a picture book.  On one page I’m in the stix walking a dirt road,

passing by old houses left over from the 1800’s…….

Howdy neighbor!

 And yes, someone lives there.

 Then I turn the page and I’m smack dab in the middle of a pristine retirement community.  

 

All in a short two-minute walk.  The track is about two more minutes from here.  

I’m a writer who likes to embellish on points of scenery, but this is just the way I see the world in general.  Everything can seem surreal to me.  It can get scary at times during my insomnia epidemics when I can’t tell real life from a dream.  And well hey, I’m not embellishing too much, picture’s don’t lie. 

Anyway, when you start any new routine, whether it be to quit smoking, or going to the gym, you have to change your behavior to fit your new lifestyle.  So in a way, running is not just a hobby, but a way of life.  I have to think of it like that.  I have to think about running, even when I’m not doing it.  I have to keep up the pace so I stay ahead of my old behavior patterns.

7 Comments

Filed under journal

7 responses to “Running

  1. Steph

    Hey you should get Holly to come with you. she said she wanted to start running

  2. navybound

    I asked her. She said she doesn’t like to run with people when she’s first starting.

  3. Steph

    Weird!!! I need someone to partner up with. I’m dragging Suzanne along with me. I printed out your program. i’m going to start next week.

    • navybound

      Awesome. I’m really excited about it. It’s sooooo much easier having a plan to follow. Holly would do so much better if she had someone to run with. I’ve read that having a running partner helps you to keep running and not slack off so much. Also you should drink a cup of coffee 30 minutes before you run. The caffeine helps burn calories faster.

  4. Steph

    I’ll have to try that! We don’t have Dunkin Donuts so I don’t really drink coffee out here. We can buy it in the store and brew it ourselves but it isn’t the same as going into that glorious donut shop and getting that french vanilla light and sweet.
    so day one was a success!

    • navybound

      Lol I don’t think a light and sweet french vanilla will help you lose weight. I’m pretty sure it has to be just plain black coffee. Maybe a hint of cream.

  5. Steph

    Bummer! haha

Leave a Reply

